Team to Oversee Re-opening of Churches Appointed

In line with the directives issued during the Eighth Presidential Address on the Coronavirus pandemic on Saturday, June 6, 2020, Cabinet Secretaries Dr. Fred Matiang’i and Mutahi Kagwe have jointly appointed an Inter-Faith Council that will oversee phased reopening of places of worship.

This follows extensive consultations between the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government and the Ministry of Health with inter-religious leaders with a view to developing protocols for onsite worship under the prevailing circumstances.

Chaired by Most (Rev.) Archbishop Anthony Muheria of the Nyeri Catholic Archdiocese, the Council will oversee the resumption of in-person congregational worship and spiritual functions in strict adherence to the containment measures put in place by the government to halt the spread
of the COVID-19 in the country.

Premising their undertaking on the World Health Organization’s cautionary advice that the novel coronavirus could become endemic in the human population, the team is also expected to co-opt any other persons to ensure the agreed general standard operating procedures are cascaded to all faith leaders at the grassroots.

The members of the Council are:

  1. Rev. (Can.) Rosemary Mbogo
  2. Pastor (Dr.) Samuel Makori
  3. Al Hajj Hassan Ole Naado
  4. Sheikh Sukyan Hassan Omar
  5. Sheikh Abdulatif Abdulkarim
  6. Rev. (Fr.) Joseph Mutie
  7. Bishop (Dr.) David Oginde
  8. Rev. Connie Kivuti
  9. Sujata Kotamraju
  10. Rt. Rev. (Dr.) Samuel Thiong’o Mwangi
  11. Sheikh Ali Saidi Samojah

Dr. Kepha Ombacho, Dr. Franacis Kuria Kagema, and Paul Famba will serve as the joint secretaries. The mandate of the team shall lapse on December 31, 2020, but may be extended at the discretion of H.E. President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.